Ready to Succeed Scholarship Program Overview

The Ready to Succeed Scholarship (RTSS) program was created by Governor Corbett with legislation (HB 278) signed on July 10, 2014, providing $5 million for student awards during the 2014-15 award year. The program is designed to address students who are not fully served by the State Grant Program and to mitigate student loan indebtedness. In July 2015, Governor Wolfe signed SB 329, sponsored by Senator Kim Ward (R-Westmoreland), into law as part of the Pennsylvania School Code. This is Act  33 of 2015.

Using the program goals established by the Governor, PHEAA, in collaboration with the Pennsylvania Department of Education (PDE), developed the following eligibility criteria for students:

  • Annual family income not to succeed $110,000
  • Meet all State Grant Program eligibility requirements with the exception of financial need
  • Achievement of second year status
  • Earned a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.25
  • Full-time award cannot exceed $2,000 in combination with the State Grant award. For part-time students, the maximum is $1,000.

Eligible students were ranked by application completion date and were awarded on a first-come, first-served basis since funding was insufficient to meet the needs of all eligible applicants. Students who submitted applications after early March 2014 did not receive a RTSS award since all funding had been expended at that point.

 2015-16 Summary Statistics Academic Year (as of December 13, 2016)


map  101 North Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1404    l    Phone: (717) 232-8649    l    Fax: (717) 233-8574    l    Email: info@aicup.org